David Starobin


1999 Grammy Nomination: Best Solo Performance
1999 AFIM ‘Indie’ Winner: Best Solo Album

David Starobin’s Newdance is the American guitar virtuoso’s first solo CD in more than 6 years- a disc much anticipated by guitar aficionados. Newdance consists of 18 new dance pieces by 18 leading composers, all composed for Starobin. Newdance presents an inspired and eclectic collection of new guitar music, ranging from rags, waltzes and tangos to chaconnes and courantes, to abstract visions of the dance, all performed brilliantly by the artist that Soundboard Magazine called: “arguably the most influential American classical guitarist of the 20th Century.”


Compositions by:

Stephen Jaffe, Jorge Morel, Elliott Carter, Mario Lavista, William Bland, Bent Sørensen, John Anthony Lennon, Steve Mackey, Richard Wernick, Apostolos Paraskevas, John Duarte, Milton Babbitt, Michael Starobin, Jonathan Harvey, Per Nørgård, Poul Ruders, Paul Lansky, Bryan Johanson